The inner machinations of our minds are no longer an enigma

WARNNNNNNNIIINGGGG!! MAJOR SPOILEERSSS!!! SCROLL NO FURTHER IF YOOU HAVE YET TO SEE THIS MASTERPIECE. UNLESS YOU DON’T CARE THEN READ ON BRAVE SOUL.

Having literally blown my mind in more ways than my manly side cares to admit, Inside Out has got to be one of the greatest animated movies ever made. And I know that sounds like just one person’s opinion, but lets be real, this is a great fucking movie. Every last second of this movie was entertaining. Starting from the opening sequence of watching Riley grow, down to the end compilation of the minds of other characters. It made me laugh at the comical mishaps of  Fear, smile at the very satisfying and heart warming conclusion, and yell at that stupid blue bitch whenever she messed everything up. So let us marvel at this cinematic masterpiece bit by bit, beginning with the cast.

When I first heard of the movie through trailers and teasers, I was surprised at the strange mix of cast members they threw in there. It’s basically a bunch of people that make you go, “oh… in a children’s movie though…?”
But for some very inexplicable reason, the casting was perfect. When you really think about it, Amy Poehler’s natural personality is very upbeat and exciting making her the perfect choice for character like Joy. Bill Hader’s wackiness added that wonderful comical paranoia to fear, Lewis Black is usually angry anyway, and well… Mindy is disgusting.
I kid, I kid… she did a wonderful job too… >.>
Now as for Sadness, I’ve always found Phyllis Smith to be a special type of funny although all she managed to do in this movie was make me want to push her into the pit of forgotten memories.
She was like that younger sibling that just never listens.
“Don’t touch the orbs, Sadness!” *Touch*
“Don’t leave the circle, Sadness!” *Leave*
“Don’t be a dumbass, Sadness!” *Dumbass-ery*

No but it’s okay, despite her idiocy she was still a lovable character. #HowToMakeAMovieRight #579: Make every character lovable, even the annoying ones.c0e13300-ffff-0132-4fc3-0ec273752cbd                                             YOUR TEARS MEAN NOTHING.

MOVING ON.

Now then, shall we talk about the animation style? Well there’s really not much to say. Even though it’s simplistic and most of the characters are non-human (meaning they don’t require much detail), there’s still only one word that describes it: Flawless.
The intricate and beautiful animation manages to highlight an animated character’s emotions down to the very specific lip and eye movements. Really not surprising considering it’s a Disney-Pixar movie.
What really caught my eye though was the visually stunning city in Riley’s mind. I did not really expect to see an entire city being introduced up there let alone such a beautifully animated one. So much props to you Mr. and Mrs. Animatorz.

NEXT

And definitely most important… the concept.
Probably the most original idea for a movie I have ever seen, this movie dwells deep into our minds to show us exactly how it works and why. Such a bold and daring idea to put out there, Pixar definitely pulls it off right. Not surprising it came from them though, considering every one of their movies is just *_____ with feelings*

tumblr_nqnph7JmYy1tkkdx0o1_540
Something tells me they’re running out of ideas

My personal favorite aspect of the concept of this movie is when the whole collapse of Riley’s mind started. During this, Riley began completely changing and pretty much having a complete mental breakdown in an attempt to explain why children and adults experience these extreme mood swings. So next time you’re feeling depressed or as though everything in your life is going wrong just remember, it’s just those assholes in your head messing around too much and running around to fix everything. So just stay calm and wait for them to find their way back to headquarters and everything will be aaaalright. :]

inside-out-opening-weekend

To wrap this up, I honestly believe this is one of Pixar’s greatest works. Up there with the legendary “Finding Nemo” and “Toy Story.” It had everything a movie should have and could definitely be enjoyed by children and adults alike. With a beautiful message about friendship and self confidence, Inside Out touched my heart as I’m sure it touched may of yours… Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go redeem myself by doing a hundred MANLY push-up. Because I am a man! One who doesn’t cry during children’s movies! No matter how sad it was when Bing Bong gave up his life to save Riley! …

cf5b9f531f3893d19468d3859bf70c54

If you’ve watched “Inside Out,” tell me what you thought of the movie! Any thoughts on what I wrote above? How would you rank it amongst the previous Pixar films? Is there anything you would’ve liked to change about the film? If you haven’t seen it yet, I hope this convinced you to get off your dumbass, sober up, and go watch this masterpiece of a thing!
And last but not least, what movie would you like me to review next?? Let me know beloowww.

Insecure Rating: 8.5/10

Feedback is very much welcome. Thanks for coming. Seeya Next Time! :]

Comment. Share. Follow

Leave a comment